RSS Feed

Twelve in ‘Twelve

Welcome to 2012, y’all!

I love starting a new year.  I like the fresh start, the clean slate, the time to reflect on lessons learned and goals still to be accomplished.  Since I was in high school, I’ve made it a point around the first of every year to take a mental assessment, linger in thankfulness for the moments of growth and joy in the previous year, and set out challenges and plans for the coming year.

This year, I’m still working on the reflection-on-the-past-year part.  I think the fact that it’s not coming easily to me is a reflection of a double-edged sword: one on side, I’m solid and comfortable enough in my own skin that I don’t feel the need to constantly reflect and re-assess who I am in order to feel grounded and purposeful; on the other side, I’m letting life get the best of me at times, and I’m not allowing myself (giving myself?) the time to disconnect from the world, reconnect with things unseen and create room for myself to grow.

So I’m starting with my goals for Twenty-Twelve.  And I’m hoping that in working on these, I’ll make the time and space for myself to reflect on a regular basis throughout the year.

Twelve

The Twelve in ‘Twelve:

1. Work out at least four times a week.

2. Learn to sew.

3. Pump up the jam on this blog.  It’s boring and has no sass.  That will change this year, people.

4. Post on the blog at least once a week.

5. Dedicate “me” time twice a week.  Working out doesn’t count as “me” time.

6. Re-do my Etsy shop.  New, uniform, better pictures.  Descriptions with some thought in them.  And?  Branching out from jewelry.  Hubs’ photography, home decor crafts, Christmas ornaments, maybe some fun antique and vintage items (because our shopping problem needs an outlet).  Lots of fun things up my sleeve, but I know it’s going to take lots of discipline on my part to make the time and put in the effort to do it and do it right.

7. Research modern parenthood.  This one is vague, yes.  Don’t really know where I’m going with it, but I’m starting by reading this book.  It arrived in the mail today, and the fact that I’m a little nervous to read it tells me that I probably really need to read it.

8. Take more pictures.

9. Order wedding photos.  Make an album.

10. Arrive at work before 9 am every day.

11. Do a 10-minute pick up every night before bed.

12. Cut credit car debt in half AND conduct Operation Down Payment.  These are some seriously saving and debt-reducing goals


2 responses »

  1. lostintranslatn

    Love it! Can’t wait to see you knock out your 12 in ’12. (It’s so funny how many resolutions we share!)

    Reply
  2. You go girl!!! I love your goals, and share more than a few of them. I’m so proud of who you are, and who you are becoming. <3

    Reply

Leave a Reply

