RSS Feed

A Reunion

MaryBeth, Me, Charlotte, Kirsten

I’ve rekindled a friendship over the past couple of years with my dear seventh grade bff, Charlotte.  She and I were friends also at the beginning of high school, but we drifted apart, life happened, and, were it not for the oftentimes creepy powers of facebook, we probably would’ve never spoken to each other again.  This past weekend, we had a reunion.  It was a reunion for the two of us and also for two sisters that were our language arts and science teachers in seventh grade.  Charlotte and I both kept in touch with them over the years and, again, thanks to the powers of facebook, have managed to remain in touch even when we otherwise would have grown apart.  On Sunday night, the four of us met up for dinner and a bottle of wine – which was probably very strange for MB and K since Charlotte and I are still twelve in their minds.

It was a marvelous night.  The three of them are each such wonderful, genuine, beautiful-spirited women, full of delight, compassion and creativity.  I feel like I’ve changed the most out of the four of us.  I’m still processing that feeling, and I’m not yet sure what to do with it.  So for now I’m just going to let it be.  And for now I’m going to be thankful for the good friends (and teachers) that have shaped me.  I’m grateful for the blessings of joyful spirits and kind hearts, of belly laughter and silly memories, of friendships that pick up where they left off and lives that find ways to continually intertwine.

One response »

  1. Ohh, what a beautiful post! I’m so honored to be a part of your blog…and of your life, Caroline! That reunion was absolutely wonderful.

    It’s funny that you say you feel you’ve changed the most…I feel like I have, too–but I see so much of the same sweet, intoxicating Caroline in you! I guess all of this is a discussion for another night, and another bottle of wine. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

